

13th October 1991

DefCon Wins '93 Australasian Media Con

Controversy

The bidding looked likely to involve controversy. We heard that Vampiricon closed nominations for bids two weeks before the con, leaving Star Walking II the only pre-registered contender, somewhat to the annoyance of DefCon. However, Business Meeting Chair Patricia Anderson announced that two bids had been received and she asked first Star Walking II and then Defcon to make their presentations.

DefCon (PO Box 30-905, Lower Hutt, New Zealand), which was already the 1993 New Zealand National Convention, won by three votes, making it the first Australasian SF Media Convention to be held outside

the Commonwealth of Australia. Cost was apparently a deciding factor — DefCon membership is \$A45, Star Walking II \$A120, and DefCon's hotel rooms were cheaper beside. Star Walking II's choice of the Townhouse became a liability after the hotel refused (at short notice) to allow food and drink to be sold in the Vampiricon Huckster's Room, to the annoyance of future con bids.

DefCon's Guests are 'a female writer' and 'a male cast member of ST:TNG'. Star Walking II's Guest is Howard Kazanjian, Executive Producer of RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK and RETURN OF THE JEDI.

'1990' ASFMA Awards

The Media counterparts of the Ditmars are known as the Australasian SF Media Awards, and are voted on and awarded in much the same fashion as the Ditmars. This year (for work published in the 1990 calendar year) there are five categories, and the winners are: Best Australasian . . .

Fan Media Newsletter

Ethel The Aardvark (ed. Alan Stewart)

Fan Media Zine
Spock (ed. Wendy Purcell)

Fan Media Writer
Alan Stewart

Fan Media Artist
Ian Gunn

Amateur Audio-Visual Production
Danny Heap, HuttCon '90 Opening Ceremony

Masquerade

There were twelve entries in the Masquerade, and six categories. Categories and winners were:

Best Group

The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse (Andrew McGee, Belinda Singe, Coralie Johnson, Sharon Mosley)

Best Costume

The Shadowmaster (Les Robertson)

Best Presentation

The Dragonrider & The Dragon (Steve Altmann and wife)

Best Original Costume

The Cybernetic Field Unit (Steve Scholes)

Best Reproduction

Edward Scissorhands (Glenn Willowsmith)

Judges Choice

The Dragonrider & The Dragon (Steve Altmann and wife)

Judges Geoff Tilley, Kenny Baker, David Prowse. MC Wendy Ratter. The other entrants: Bride of Frankenstein (Catherine Scholz), Judge Rear (Ken Haesler), The Grand High Witch (Karen Ogden), I Dream of Jeannie (April Claridge), The Rudigoreans (Jan McNally, Marion McNally, Mark Riley, Sarah Berry, Lisa Poulier), A Late Entrant (Linda Cox Chan), and The Romulan Contract (Alison Wallace, Julie Hughes).

Of the winners, Glenn Willowsmith's Edward Scissorhands (Best Reproduction) stands out. Vampiricon was Glenn's first convention and, accordingly, his first Convention Masquerade. Costume and character were perfect, the major lack being the absence of a skit to hang them on. Les Robertson's The Shadowmaster (Best Costume) made good use of a pair of cricket pads. Steve Altmann's The Dragonrider & The Dragon featured a reasonable costume and a bombastic skit, but would have been flat save for the intervention of The Dragon — being the Dragonrider's wife, wearing Ponds mask, curlers, and dressing gown (alas, we did not catch her name) which twisted the skit's meaning neatly. Steve Scholes' Cybernetic Field Unit (Best Original Costume) presupposed a future war in which wounded soldiers were loaded down with electronic junk and sent back into battle. But some of them were so loaded down with gadgetry that . . . 'I can't see!' (falls off stage). Andrew McGee, Belinda Singe, Coralie Johnson, and Sharon Mosley's The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse featured War, Famine, Pestilence, and Death (in that order). 'Pustulence!' shouted the Australian audience as the group was announced, taking off MC Wendy's Kiwi accent.

For full report and more details, don't miss THYME 85 — available at the beginning of December!

Correction

In THYME 84 we reported the date of the Austrek Car Rally as 3rd November 1991. This has been changed to 10th November.

ThymeXtra 84.5 is a supplement to THYME 84, October 1991.

Address:

THYME PO Box 428

AUSTRALIA

PO Box 428 Richmond 3121

Copyright • 1991 by Greg Hills and Mark Loney.

All rights reserved.